Travel To Go Complaint

Travel To Go Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

Vacation Plan Scam Travel To Go-...


Vacation Plan Scam Travel To Go - Rocky Hill, CT

I purchased a Vacation Plan on 3/31/05 from Ameri-World Group, 845 Brook Street, Rocky Hill CT 06067 for $4,995.00. I've submitted complaints with the BBB here in CT and in CA, I've also filed a complaint with CT state Consumer Protection (Sr. investigator Patricia Brown). This has gone all the way the the State Attorney's office on Elm Street in Hartford. Yet have not not received any updates or refund.

I attended a sales presentation for the Travel To Go Travel Club in Rocky Hill, CT on March 31, 2005. The presentation was about 60 minutes and highlighted that there are three levels of membership of course the more expensive membership which I purchased would provide a total of 4 8day/7night luxury (4 to 5 star) accommodations (travel expenses not included) to destinations around the world per year to the VIP members. The vacations could be gifted/willed to family and friends or sold. There is a yearly membership renewal fee $147.00. The 8 day/7night vacations could be combined to be taken in any combination as long as the stay does not exceed 30 days and there were accommodations available. The luxury accommodations available: studio (sleeps 2), one bedroom (sleeps 4) or two bedroom (sleeps 6 to 8) condos/townhouses. Depending on size of accommodation the cost of each 8 day/7 night vacation would range from $199 - $299. I was also told that membership included the following additional benefits:

40% to 70% discount on hotels

40% to 70% discount on rental cars

40% to 70% discount on airfare

Discounts at specific restaurants (Percentage varies by facility)

40% to 70% discount on cruises

Weekly specials called “Hot weeks” which are last minute 8 day 7 night accommodations to locations like the Bahamas, Jamaica, Hawaii, etc. from $199 for travel within 14 days.

Unlimited mini-vacations 3 days/2nights

10% off RV Rentals

Member only discounts on Attraction Tickets

Travel Insurance

During the presentation we were told that the VIP package was only available that evening and would be offered to one couple/guess for half-off; therefore, we were encouraged to consider the benefits and be aware that the offer would be given to the first person to raise their hand. The membership as it was describe sounded reasonable and half off made it affordable. So I raised my hand and was assigned to Clarence to review payment plans/option. I leather binder of the benefits and conditions of the vacation plan were passed around and we were given a few minutes to peruse it. I purchased the VIP package for $4,995.00. My credit/debit card was taken and I was asked to sign the receipt as well as a couple other documents. One of which included a release stating that I cannot simply change my mind about my purchase and request a refund. At the time I thought the release was a bit strange since a single 8 day/7 night vacation to Hawaii could cost me the same amount of money if not more. I was given a leather bound three ring binder that I was told contained all the information I would need to schedule and enjoy my vacations.

I contacted customer service/reservations at 1-800-477-6331 in April (discounts on Disney, Universal, and Sea World Tickets), May, and Jun, (discounts on weekend stay in the Poconos) and July (discounts available for airfare and hotel accommodations from Hartford, CT to Las Vegas, NV, as well as, airfare from Hartford, CT to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico). The prices quoted by VIP member services were all significantly higher than prices I found on the Internet. I attempted to locate deals on the VIP website (vipvacationplan.com) as well, and the packages available were also significantly higher than vacations and airfare available on the internet. Summary of the attached more recent examples include:

The following examples were accessed via the vipvactionplan.com and Travelocity via Yahoo.com on 9/29/05 the actual print-outs are enclosed.


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to Travel To Go
SUBMIT a ticket
for Travel To Go
WATCH videos
for Travel To Go
More Travel To Go Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for Travel To Go

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Company was claimed GREAT NEWS, this company has Partnered with MeasuredUp and uses it to answer you!
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


cascoly says: (2 years ago)
 0
we had similar results with this company -- details of our experience are at http://trav2go.com



Wynnwoods says: (3 years ago)
 0
I have been using Travel To Go San Diego for several years and have had nothing but a wonderful experience with them. I have saved tons of money and now instead of saving up all year for a long weekend, I can take a couple of vacations for a week each every year. I have recommended Travel To Go membership to my friends and family and they have all been pleased as well. Recently my family and I enjoyed a wonderful week in Cancun Mexico at the Park Royal hotel/timeshare. The rooms were clean and big; although the beds were a bit on the short side (we are all tall). We had a one bed room that consisted of two rooms with 3 double beds (a Murphy bed in the living area). We also had two bathrooms. This resort was an all inclusive and the food was delicious and served constantly. The beach and the water were amazing ...the prettiest blue color I have ever seen!!!!!! We went in July and my kids had so much fun meeting other kids from Mexico, who were also vacationing there. They played soccer on the beach and went to the mall across the street called La Isla. They are all e-mailing each other and hope to get together again soon. Cancun really got wiped out by the hurricane last fall and most all of the hotels in the area are empty shells. I would estimate that only 1 in 10 hotels are up and running. This made for a nice peaceful vacation because you could take long walks on the beach and not run into tons of tourists.



62tinkerbell says: (3 years ago)
 0
We went to a presentation of Global Discovery Vacations also. What a scam. They told us also, "buy tonite for this discounted price, available tonight only". They promise the world but never come through. First of all they are never available when you call. You have to wait several days to speak to someone. Secondly they never have a place where you want it or when. Also, I went to them with a problem loosing my joy and to see if they could work with me with the cancellation of my trip (I had the insurance)because I had lost my job and was not going to be able to go after we looked at our budget. They haggled until they found a loophole for them and kept every penny of my trip money I provided to them nearly 600.00. I asked them if they could help me sell my plan and they were very curt with me. I would never recommend this company to anyone. If I could afford a billboard to warn people I would. I do tell everyone I speak to, at work, on the bus, everywhere, and put it on Facebook. They have no compassion it is all about the money. I have 2 friends that got that famous post card about the free cruise and I told them to tear it up and run like heck and they heeded my warning. Tell everyone be very cautious cause if it sounds too good to be true it really is.



SelenaBingham says: (4 years ago)
 0
This is a SCAM, SCAM SCAM.

Purchased my membership in 2005. No matter what dates we selected there was never anything available at the rates we promised. Since then my husband and I have been to Las Vegas twice, Disney world with the whole family twice where we stayed at luxury resorts, Sesame Place in PA twice, NASA Houston, Seaworld San Antonio, New Orleans for the Essence Festival, Miami for Labor day, Back to CT 2 since we relocated, and we have a 2 week vacation planned to Italy in May thanks to Luxurylink.com. As you can see we travel quite a bit and we would have loved to be able to utilize the travel club membership we purchased and paid for in full. I was told the CT attorney General had filed a class action lawsuit but nothing has come of it because the upper management keeps changes hands ever year and there is a high turnover rate so all employees rotate out every six months. Sucks for me cause I could really use my $5,000 back.



99508 says: (4 years ago)
 0
We went to the presentation and so far Travel To Go is a scam. We listened for 60 minutes to the sales pitch, got a personal sales pitch twice and then sat for 30 minutes waiting for our "computer." At this point we were told they were out of computers despite the fact that they had two more planned seminar sessions that day. We were told more computers were being ordered or they could mail us a computer. We were told -rather shadily-to return to the Hampton Hotel on Thursday to pick up the "computer." No place to get the computer or contact name was given, After pressing for details we were assured that Travel To Go would still be at the hotel on Thursday, but I have my doubts. The scam is they want you to spend between 2000 (low end) up to 10,000 for membership in a travel club which supposedly gets you discounts that justify their upfront fee. This from a business that can't even fulfill its basic deal. The deal was I listen fro 90 minutes and get a free laptop computer (granted laptop computers can be found online for as little as $144.00). Well we listened for 90 minutes and got NOTHING!!!! Unless you have tons of vacation time and/or LOVE cruises don't bother with this scam because it won't pay off. And they claim great customer service!



99508 says: (4 years ago)
 0
We went to the presentation and so far Travel To Go is a scam. We listened for 60 minutes to the sales pitch, got a personal sales pitch twice and then sat for 30 minutes waiting for our "computer." At this point we were told they were out of computers despite the fact that they had two more planned seminar sessions that day. We were told more computers were being ordered or they could mail us a computer. We were told -rather shadily-to return to the Hampton Hotel on Thursday to pick up the "computer." No place to get the computer or contact name was given, After pressing for details we were assured that Travel To Go would still be at the hotel on Thursday, but I have my doubts. The scam is they want you to spend between 2000 (low end) up to 10,000 for membership in a travel club which supposedly gets you discounts that justify their upfront fee. This from a business that can't even fulfill its basic deal. The deal was I listen fro 90 minutes and get a free laptop computer (granted laptop computers can be found online for as little as $144.00). Well we listened for 90 minutes and got NOTHING!!!! Unless you have tons of vacation time and/or LOVE cruises don't bother with this scam because it won't pay off. And they claim great customer service!



99508 says: (4 years ago)
 0
We went to the presentation and so far Travel To Go is a scam. We listened for 60 minutes to the sales pitch, got a personal sales pitch twice and then sat for 30 minutes waiting for our "computer." At this point we were told they were out of computers despite the fact that they had two more planned seminar sessions that day. We were told more computers were being ordered or they could mail us a computer. We were told -rather shadily-to return to the Hampton Hotel on Thursday to pick up the "computer." No place to get the computer or contact name was given, After pressing for details we were assured that Travel To Go would still be at the hotel on Thursday, but I have my doubts. The scam is they want you to spend between 2000 (low end) up to 10,000 for membership in a travel club which supposedly gets you discounts that justify their upfront fee. This from a business that can't even fulfill its basic deal. The deal was I listen fro 90 minutes and get a free laptop computer (granted laptop computers can be found online for as little as $144.00). Well we listened for 90 minutes and got NOTHING!!!! Unless you have tons of vacation time and/or LOVE cruises don't bother with this scam because it won't pay off. And they claim great customer service!



99508 says: (4 years ago)
 0
We went to the presentation and so far Travel To Go is a scam. We listened for 60 minutes to the sales pitch, got a personal sales pitch twice and then sat for 30 minutes waiting for our "computer." At this point we were told they were out of computers despite the fact that they had two more planned seminar sessions that day. We were told more computers were being ordered or they could mail us a computer. We were told -rather shadily-to return to the Hampton Hotel on Thursday to pick up the "computer." No place to get the computer or contact name was given, After pressing for details we were assured that Travel To Go would still be at the hotel on Thursday, but I have my doubts. The scam is they want you to spend between 2000 (low end) up to 10,000 for membership in a travel club which supposedly gets you discounts that justify their upfront fee. This from a business that can't even fulfill its basic deal. The deal was I listen fro 90 minutes and get a free laptop computer (granted laptop computers can be found online for as little as $144.00). Well we listened for 90 minutes and got NOTHING!!!! Unless you have tons of vacation time and/or LOVE cruises don't bother with this scam because it won't pay off. And they claim great customer service!



cruiser1 says: (4 years ago)
 0
After reading these reviews i do not understand how they can complain about Travel To Go. We have been on several vacations over the last 5 years and saved at least $4000 and am very pleased with our membership. You must realize that a company that travels as may people as they do there will be some people as above that wont be happy no matter what.



learnedmylesson says: (4 years ago)
 0
Does not live up to its advertisements. Costumer service was not helpful. This company scammed me out of hundreds of dollars.
Expensive lesson learned. Stay away!



PositiveVacation says: (4 years ago)
 0
When was the last time you wrote a complaint, this one is more than 5 years old. Be sure to check your facts. This is a reputable company.



Slellzey says: (4 years ago)
 0
I understand exactly how u feel re: Travel to Go.

For the person that wrote this review I can be

contacted at Zaanti-davi@hotmail.com for more

details of my experience.



bdevenp89 says: (5 years ago)
 0
I guess these people got in Florida too, my wife and I went last week Friday June 26 to a presentation on this Universal Vacation Network place which people had no idea what they were doing they put us in a room and kept us for almost 2 hours then was pushing at all costs to sell us a 3995 membership that later we found out that we could not book anything and even worse they promised us this beutiful places that after called some of it we found out that most of them were over years old. Well be aware of this new vacation membership that floridians are offering.
B. Cowell



DumbEd says: (5 years ago)
 0
I too was dumb enough to sign up. I tried one vacation, which was advertised for $399 and ended up paying nearly $900 for a five-day stay at a so,so vacation "resort."




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More Travel To Go reviews


Similar reviews


[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team